Youthbridge Awards

The BGA’s annual Youthbridge Award Scheme gives cash prizes and certificates for the best projects submitted by students in each participating school. Here are the details of our 2015/16 scheme.

The BGA Youthbridge Award For excellence in German School Year 2015-2016

Youthbridge Awards are presented annually to the winning three students of each participating Youthbridge School.

The students  - To encourage them to continue to exams in the following year, the students should ideally be in a year before their next examinations (GCSE, AS, A).  However, we can discuss other proposals.

The winners are chosen by the Head of German of each school, taking into account:

a)  Enthusiasm for and ability in the German language

b)  Ability to motivate others to take up German and develop an interest in Germany

c)  The quality of their project – see below

The Projects - The projects should be in German on a topic concerning Germany.  It might, for instance, explain a student’s interest in or relationship to Germany, its culture (in the broadest sense of the word) and language. But it could equally be about their interest in one aspect, in an artist, in German music, history, sport or whatever.

The project could be an essay, or something quite different, such as talk-to-camera, filmed interviews, voiceovers, a Powerpoint presentation, poetry….

Projects should be copied to us with the award nominations.

The Awards

1st Prize: £50 plus the Youthbridge Award certificate

2nd Prize: £30 plus the Youthbridge Award certificate

3rd Prize: £20 plus the Youthbridge Award certificate

Last year’s Award winners produced projects of very high quality, and included some very imaginative entries. We’re looking forward to as good or better this year!

Please let us know as soon as possible if your school will be taking part.  Nominations for this school year’s 2015-2016 Awards should be received by the BGA before 30.06.16.  Email:

Best wishes, and good luck!

Copyright © 2017 British-German Association

Patron: HRH The Duke of Kent KG | President: The Rt Hon The Lord Watson of Richmond CBE | Chairman: The Hon Stephen Watson
Vice-Chairman: John Hobley | Hon Treasurer: John Greenwood | Hon. Secretary: Jan Timmermann
The Association is incorporated in England with limited liability under No 601 207 Reg. Charity No 206062